导航
搜索
简体中文
  • English
  • Português
预约参观申请
  • English
  • Português
  • 主页
  • OPEN.ed
  • 爱文的整合科学——第二篇:重新设计爱文的科学课程

爱文的整合科学——第二篇:重新设计爱文的科学课程

作者| 爱文世界学校全球科学学术主任 Mike Maccarone

在这个系列的第一篇中,我们已经向大家介绍了 20 世纪末在西方的小学至高中的教育中涌现的两个思路:1)打造一门按照特定教学顺序并符合学生学习情况,并基于基础知识的科学课程的必要性;2)模糊传统学科之间的界限的好处,比如在科学课程中模糊物理、化学和生物学之间的界限。在爱文科学部,这些思路给了我们启发并驱使我们努力给学生提供更好更丰富的课堂体验。

在爱文,我们有一门课就叫“科学”。这门课研究现象(“基于现象的教学法”是芬兰让人啧啧称道的教育改革努力的核心,它提倡用“按话题教学”来取代“按学科教学”),利用了学生天生的好奇心,以及识别那些统治宇宙及其万物的规律和法则——这绝非易事。为了能够更好地和现代科学接壤——地球生命的起源、气候变化、抗药性细菌、人口过剩和人工智能等话题受到越来越多的关注,我们设计了一个课程,它既采纳了“物理—化学—生物学”的教学顺序的思路,也涵盖了一些重要的现代话题,如环境、沟通、适应、能源,以及工程设计等。

Img

九年级学生在做“波和通信”单元的实验

“消费者的科学”

九年级学生的科学课程是以“消费者的科学”为主题的。我们希望学生思考他们周边的物体并提出问题,以及从科学的层面定义这些物体的构成,它们缘何不同和它们的作用机制。是物理?是化学?是生物学?我们不想要贴标签。这一年的学习从研究物质的属性开始。在这个“材料”科学单元,学生提出跟物质属性相关的问题,它们的分子和原子结构,以及使它们结合在一起的作用力。下半年学生则转向通过通信设备学习波的知识,并应用他们所学的力和运动的知识最终完成一项机械工程设计项目。

“公民的科学”

十年级的学生在九年级的知识基础上开始深入研究现代能源,包括能量的产生和转移,以及提供能量的资源的属性。这自然意味着我们会探索我们所在的生态系统,特别是发生在大气圈、生物圈和水圈的化学反应以及其他人类和环境之间的相关互动。我们称其为爱文的“公民的科学”。

“自己的科学”

十一年级的科学课程最终转向“自己的科学”,也就是生命科学。学生探索发生在生物体内部和生物体之间的各种过程,包括繁殖、基因、进化、适应、疾病等等,同时跟之前所学的化学环境和物理系统的知识进行关联。

这是有关爱文整合科学的系列文章中的第二篇。回到第一篇,或继续阅读第三篇

了解更多

加入爱文,在这里找到属于您的未来,让我们一起重新定义世界各地的K-12教育

从位于三大洲的爱文校区,了解全球教育的最新动态

查看我们的联系方式——包括爱文总部和全球各个校区

回到顶部

爱文总部

了解更多

Menu
Search
English
  • Português
  • 简体中文
VisitApply
  • Português
  • 简体中文
  • Home
  • OPEN.ed
  • Integrated Science at Avenues – Part II: Redesigning Science at Avenues

Integrated Science at Avenues – Part II: Redesigning Science at Avenues

By Mike Maccarone, Global Academic Dean for Science at Avenues: The World School

In Part I of this series, I introduced two ideas that emerged in K-12 education in the West in the late-20th century: 1) the need for a science curriculum that builds on foundational knowledge, in a particular sequence, and at a developmentally appropriate rate and 2) the benefits of blurring the lines between the traditional disciplines across the curriculum, including in science, between physics, chemistry and biology. In the science department at Avenues, these ideas have inspired us to update and enrich the experiences we provide our students in the classroom.

At Avenues, we have developed a course of study simply called “Science.” Studying phenomena (currently at the center of Finland’s laudable reform efforts to replace “teaching by subject” with “teaching by topic”), tapping into the innate curiosity of students, identifying patterns and laws that govern the universe and its myriad, diverse constituents, is no small task. In an effort to more adequately address the modern intellectual landscape of science, which is increasingly dominated by research into the origins of life on earth, climate change, drug-resistant bacteria, overpopulation and artificial intelligence, we have developed a program that applies the best principles of a physics>chemistry>biology sequence and includes connections to important modern issues like the environment, communication, adaptation and energy resources, as well as engineering design.

Img

Ninth graders work on an exercise related to their waves and communication unit.

SCIENCE FOR THE CONSUMER

The theme for our ninth grade course is what we internally call “science for the consumer.” We want students to think about objects in the world around them, ask questions and, more importantly, begin to define on a meaningful scientific level how those objects are structured, what makes them different and what makes them work. Is this physics? Chemistry? Biology? We don’t like to label. The year begins with an in-depth study of the nature of matter. In this “material” science unit, students explore questions about the nature of materials, their atomic and molecular structure and the electrical forces that hold them together. The second half of the year shifts toward a study of waves through communication devices and culminates in a mechanical-engineering design project that requires the study and application of forces and motion.

SCIENCE FOR THE CITIZEN

Students in the tenth grade follow up this experience with a deep investigation into modern energy sources, including the generation and transformation of energy and the nature of the resources that provide it. This leads naturally into an exploration of the ecosystem in which we live, with a particular focus on the chemical reactions that occur in the atmosphere, biosphere and hydrosphere and other relevant interactions between humans and their environment. We consider this the Avenues take on “science for the citizen.”

SCIENCE FOR THE SELF

The 11th grade science curriculum culminates in our study of “science for the self,” in which the life sciences take center stage. Students explore the processes that occur within and between living organisms, including reproduction, genetics, evolution, adaptation and disease, while making connections to the chemical environment and physical systems studied in prior coursework.

This is part 2 of a three-part series of articles on integrated science at Avenues. Go back to part 1, or continue reading with part 3.

Find out more

Find your future at Avenues: join the growing team that’s redefining K-12 education around the world.

Explore timely insights into global education from our campuses on three continents.

View our directory of contacts, including Avenues’ headquarters and our global campuses.

back to top

Headquarters

FIND OUT MORE